Five generations. Originally the “L’ost d’l bosch” (“the hostel in the woods”), the establishment was set up for the sale of wine and aquavit. Under the Austro-Hungarian Empire, the “Weisses kreuz” received a licence in 1882 to provide accommodation for guests, and in 1905 it was enlarged and a staging post was added. Between the wars, it became the haunt of mountaineers, explorers and scientists in the summer and German and Hungarian tourists in the winter. Used as a barracks by the Wehrmacht, by the Allies, and then by the Italians, it is now a real gem, with elegant, frescoed rooms and a luxurious spa.
Stréda Roma 3, 38032 Canazei (TN)
- Derik Detone - Proprietor and director
||Click on the icon
to view the map